CFL Timeline & Abbreviations

start with the 1947 season teams: 
Calgary Stampeders Saskatchewan Roughriders
Hamilton Tiger Cats Toronto Argonauts
Montreal Alouettes Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Ottawa Rough Riders  
1949Edmonton Eskimos began play
1954British Columbia Lions began play
1982Montreal Alouettes became Montreal Concordes
1986Montreal Concordes became Montreal Alouettes
1987Montreal Alouettes folded
1987Winnipeg Blue Bombers moved from West to East Division
1993Sacramento Gold Miners began play
1994Baltimore CFLers began play
1994Las Vegas Posse began play
1994Shreveport Pirates began play
1995Birmingham Barracudas began play
1995San Antonio Texans began play
1995Sacrameto Gold Miners folded
1995Las Vegas Posse folded
1995Memphis Mad Dogs began play
1995Baltimore CFLers became Baltimore Stallions
1996Birmingham Barracudas folded
1996San Antonio Texans folded
1996Memphis Mad Dogs folded
1996Shreveport Pirates folded
1996Baltimore Stallions became Montreal Alouettes
1997Ottawa Rough Riders folded
1997Winnipeg Blue Bombers moved from West to East Division
2002Ottawa Renegades began play
2006Ottawa Renegades folded
2014Ottawa Redblacks began play
2014Winnipeg Blue Bombers moved from East to West Division
2021Edmonton Eskimos became Edmonton Elks
List of abbreviations used in other pages:
Baltimore BalBaltimore Stallions (1994 - 1995)
Birmingham BirBirmingham Barracudas (1995)
British Columbia BCBritish Columbia Lions (1954 - present)
Calgary CgyCalgary Stampeders (1947 - present)
Edmonton EdmEdmonton Eskimos/Elks (1949 - present)
Hamilton HamHamilton Tiger Cats (1947 - present)
Las Vegas LVLas Vegas Posse (1994)
Memphis MemMemphis Mad Dogs (1995)
Montreal MtlMontreal Alouettes (1947-1981, 1986, 1996-present)
Mtl ConcordesMtCMontreal Concordes (1982 - 1985)
Ottawa OttOttawa Redblacks (2014 - present)
Ott RenegadesOtROttawa Renegades (2002 - 2005)
Ott RghRidersORROttawa Rough Riders (1947 - 1996)
Sacramento SacSacramento Gold Miners (1993 - 1994)
San Antonio SA San Antonio Texans (1995)
Saskatchewan SskSaskatchewan Roughriders (1947 - present)
Shreveport ShrShreveport Pirates (1994 - 1995)
Toronto TorToronto Argonauts (1947 - present)
Winnipeg WpgWinnipeg Blue Bombers (1947 - present)